Introducing Tea
Introducing Tea or Camellia Sinensis

Camellia sinensis is the scientific classification for the tea plant.

One of the most interesting and surprising facts about tea for newcomers is that all types of tea, white, green, oolong, red and black, come from the same plant, the Camellia sinensis. What determines a type of tea's "color" is the processing the newly picked leaves will undergo before they reach your tea pot.

Camellia is native to most of Southeast Asia, but is cultivated throughout the world in other countries such as Japan and India.
White Tea
Green Tea
Oolong Tea
Black Tea
About The Four Main Types

White tea is the most delicate and probably the most powerful of all the types of tea.
It brews a very airy aroma and somewhat fruity taste that any hot beverage drinker can enjoy. This tea also offers more powerful antioxidant properties than its older brothers. I say "older" because this tea is in fact young, that is, the leaves are picked before they fully open and are covered with tiny fuzzy whitish hairs which earns it its name "white tea".

Green tea is another well-known type and also offers great health benefits too. Grown and highly consumed in both China and Japan, this tea branches off into literally hundreds of varieties.

Oolong tea which is also called wu long tea, is one of those types of tea that is in between green and black. A sweet, floral, woody brew that consists of larger leaves. This tea has also proven in studies that it can help folks shed pounds, and even decrease the progress of wrinkles and aging of the skin.

Black tea which is the most commonly consumed tea in the world is the most processed of the four types. Tea overall is the second most consumed beverage in the world, with water as the first. Most black varieties of tea come from India! Most people may think China since that country is the birth place of tea, but India's hot climate and high mountains produce some of the worlds finest black teas..